Read the latest Pulse

New York edition

News checked through

Published 13 Sept, 12:53 UTC

You are reading a saved edition, not live news. News window: 12 Sept, 12:45 UTC to 13 Sept, 12:45 UTC. Labelled ongoing and upcoming items retain their own dates.

Arc: some research could not be published. Available stories remain below.

The catch-up

News from the last 24 hours, plus clearly dated ongoing developments and upcoming events.

Backpack opens its stock mint and redeem API to all Solana developers

@armaniferrante , CEO of @Backpack , said the Backpack Securities mint and redeem API is now open access. Developers on Solana can turn a security entitlement into an onchain token, and back again, with a single API call. Docs are at docs.backpack.exchange. Backpack Securities is the regulated brokerage that issues 1:1 redeemable tokenized U.S. stocks on Solana, including the $FLWS listing @solana confirmed on 12 September. The API opening is a live production interface, not a testnet print, and it lands during Solana Foundation's Stocklana hackathon.

Read story

Robinhood

1 development

Tenev says public companies should not veto Robinhood stock tokens after AMC clash

@vladtenev , CEO of Robinhood, posted on 11 September that issuers should not get a veto over separately issued stock tokens that only reference freely traded shares. Robinhood Stock Tokens live on Robinhood Chain, the broker's Ethereum layer-2, and are 1:1 backed instruments that give economic exposure without putting holders on a company's shareholder register. The post answers AMC CEO Adam Aron, who called the AMC-linked tokens a fake market and threatened to take the dispute to the SEC. No new company reply or regulator action appeared in the 24-hour window.

Why it matters The fight is still open, and it is the live test of whether tokenized U.S. stocks on Robinhood Chain need the underlying company's consent. Anyone holding or researching those tokens should treat them as a separate Robinhood product, not as AMC shares, until a regulator or court says otherwise.

Read the context

Robinhood Chain is an Ethereum layer-2 Robinhood launched on 1 July 2026 for tokenized stocks, DeFi, and onchain trading, with ETH used for gas. Stock Tokens are issued outside the United States by a Robinhood entity as separately issued instruments backed by underlying shares held with a U.S. custodian. Holders get price exposure, not voting rights in the listed company. AMC Entertainment's Adam Aron has demanded that Robinhood stop offering AMC-linked tokens and has threatened to involve the SEC. Tenev's 11 September post, which CoinDesk recapped the same day, set a test: if a product changes shareholder rights, replaces the official stock ledger, or creates new duties for the issuer or transfer agent, the company should be involved; if it is a separate instrument that only holds or references freely transferable shares, issuer consent should not be required. He compared the design to unsponsored ADRs, options, and structured products. Robinhood's official account posted only a generic investing-habit prompt during the 24-hour window. Aron has not withdrawn the SEC threat in the evidence reviewed here, so the legal question remains live for users of Robinhood Chain stock tokens.

Link to this story

Solana

3 developments

Backpack opens its stock mint and redeem API to all Solana developers

@armaniferrante , CEO of @Backpack , said the Backpack Securities mint and redeem API is now open access. Developers on Solana can turn a security entitlement into an onchain token, and back again, with a single API call. Docs are at docs.backpack.exchange. Backpack Securities is the regulated brokerage that issues 1:1 redeemable tokenized U.S. stocks on Solana, including the $FLWS listing @solana confirmed on 12 September. The API opening is a live production interface, not a testnet print, and it lands during Solana Foundation's Stocklana hackathon.

Why it matters Until now, teams that wanted Backpack-style redeemable stock tokens had to work through Backpack's own products. Opening mint and redeem lets wallets, DEXs, and credit apps wire issuance and redemption into their own flows, which is the difference between listing a ticker and building stock-native software.

Read the context

Backpack Securities is a brokerage that holds traditional U.S. securities as New York UCC Article 8 entitlements and issues matching Solana tokens that can be redeemed 1:1 for the underlying share. That two-way door is the product claim that separates these tokens from many price-tracking stock wrappers. Ferrante's 13 September post pointed builders to the same Exchange API used for trading, with ED25519 signed requests. Solana Compass reported that any Solana developer can now mint or redeem without a separate custody deal. The timing overlaps Stocklana, a Solana Foundation hackathon running through 18 September with a $100,000 prize pool for apps that make tokenized stocks useful. The API is announced as open; it does not by itself mean every third-party app can offer stock tokens in every country, and users still need a Backpack Securities path to redeem into a traditional share entitlement.

Link to this story

Kamino says Binance Wallet users have put $100 million into its Solana vaults

@kamino , Solana's largest lending protocol by deposits, said more than $100 million has been deposited into Kamino Vaults through @BinanceWallet . The figure is nine days after Binance Wallet put Kamino in its DeFi tab on 3 September with $300,000 in boosted rewards on RockawayX USDC and Sentora PYUSD vaults. Kamino said the first $50 million arrived in about a day, with the rest over the following eight days. Funds sit in onchain vaults that allocate into Kamino lending markets, not on Binance's centralized books. @solana quote-posted the update.

Why it matters This is exchange users reaching Solana credit without leaving Binance Wallet. It is a concrete adoption path, not a new token. The open question is how much stays after the 30-day reward window.

Read the context

Kamino is a Solana lending and vault platform. A vault takes one deposit asset and allocates it across curator-managed lending reserves, issuing a share token to the depositor. Binance Wallet's DeFi tab lists those vaults so customers can deposit USDC or PYUSD without bridging to a standalone Solana wallet. Solana Compass, citing Kamino, put protocol TVL near $1.43 billion and vault deposits near $580 million, with the Binance Wallet channel about one-sixth of vault deposits. The $100 million is Kamino's own figure for that channel. It does not break out unique users, how much is still incentive-driven, or whether withdrawals have started. The 3 September campaign required a $100 minimum deposit to share the rewards.

Link to this story

xStocks lists tokenized GameStop as $GMEx on Solana for 24/7 DEX trading

@xStocksFi said GameStop $GMEx is live on @solana and trading around the clock on decentralized exchanges. A follow-up from the same account said the product is not available in the United States or to U.S. persons, with geo restrictions and a Kraken xStocks risk disclosure. xStocks is Payward's tokenized-equity platform, a different issuer from Backpack Securities. Solana Compass later described GMEx as backed 1:1 by GameStop Corp shares and showed it as the active GameStop variant on Solana, with an Ondo variant still showing no trades.

Why it matters GameStop is a culturally loaded ticker. A live Solana listing means non-U.S. users can trade it on weekends on DEXs, while U.S. persons are told they cannot. Check the issuer, the mint, and the geo wall before treating it as a substitute for a brokerage share.

Read the context

xStocks issues tokenized U.S. and global equities as onchain tokens, typically backed 1:1 by shares in regulated custody, and distributes them through Kraken and DEX venues. The 12 September post is the listing notice. It does not publish a mint address in the text of that post. Compass's GameStop token page listed GMEx as the high-volume variant and GMEon (Ondo) with no trades yet, and cited about $1.7 million of 24-hour GMEx volume and $15.5 million of tokenized value at the time of that page. Those market figures move. This listing is separate from Backpack and Sunrise names such as $FLWS. xStocks' own disclosure is the binding limit for U.S. access.

Link to this story

Base

2 developments

Tokenized stocks on Base hit $100 million in a single day, Token Terminal says

@tokenterminal reported that tokenized stocks on Base set a new daily decentralized-exchange volume high of $100 million. Thirty-day volume reached $730.9 million, with Aerodrome accounting for $557.1 million (76%) and Uniswap v4 $139.3 million. @jessepollak , who built Base, said the chain went from zero to $100 million in daily stock volume in 26 days. These tokens are live Coinbase-issued equity tokens on Base, Coinbase's Ethereum layer-2 network, not a testnet print.

Why it matters Base is now printing a full day of onchain stock trading that would have been a rounding error a month ago. That matters for anyone comparing where tokenized US equities actually trade, which DEX takes the fees, and whether Coinbase's stock tokens are being used as DeFi inventory rather than just a brokerage wrapper. The figure is a one-day high, not proof the flow will hold.

Read the context

Base is the Ethereum layer-2 network incubated by Coinbase. A layer 2 processes transactions off Ethereum's main chain, then posts them back, which is meant to cut fees and speed settlement. Coinbase Tokenized Stocks are blockchain tokens meant to be backed 1:1 by real shares and issued for eligible investors outside the United States. They use Base's B20 token standard and trade on decentralized exchanges, mainly Aerodrome, instead of a traditional stock exchange. Token Terminal's 12 September post is the primary data point for the $100 million daily high and the $730.9 million 30-day total. @jessepollak amplified it the same afternoon. A later Token Terminal post the same day said Coinbase's tokenized SpaceX stock (SPCXc) generated a record $6.6 million in DEX volume the prior day, equal to 23% of its $28.5 million total over its first nine days. That SpaceX print is part of the same onchain-equity tape, not a separate product launch. Coverage of the legal wrapper (custodian, dividends, US-person bans) is consistent across earlier Coinbase materials: these are not Nasdaq trades, and US users are generally excluded. Daily DEX volume can include speculative looping around a few names, so the $100 million high is best read as activity, not as $100 million of new long-term holders.

Link to this story

Coinbase Wallet Pulse Mode is live for non-U.S. perpetual futures after the Base App rename

Coinbase Wallet engineer @cankeremgurel said Pulse Mode, a simpler mobile screen for perpetual futures, is rolled out. CEO @brian_armstrong posted the same interface on 12 September and told people to download the app. Pulse Mode sits in Coinbase Wallet, the self-custodial app Coinbase restored on 10 September after a year as Base App. Perps are routed through Hyperliquid. Crypto.news, writing on 13 September, said Coinbase has not published Pulse Mode-specific fees, leverage caps, or a full eligibility list, and that perps remain unavailable to U.S. users.

Why it matters This is the trading surface of the product that used to be the Base App. It is still live this weekend, it is not a U.S. product, and it is an interface on Hyperliquid rather than a new Coinbase exchange. Check the app listing in your region before assuming access.

Read the context

Base is Coinbase's Ethereum layer-2. The consumer app built around it was renamed Base App in 2025, then switched back to Coinbase Wallet on 10 September 2026 as Coinbase put trading ahead of the social experiment. Pulse Mode is a simplified perpetual-futures view inside that wallet, announced 11 September and amplified by Armstrong early on 12 September, before this edition's 24-hour window. Crypto Briefing said eligible non-U.S. users can reach more than 290 markets, including crypto, tokenized stocks, and commodities, with leverage described as high as 50x, using USDC as collateral. Crypto.news was more cautious: Armstrong's post did not specify fees or markets, Google Play says perps are powered by Hyperliquid and limited to non-U.S. users in selected places, and Coinbase had not published a dedicated Pulse Mode support article when that report was prepared. The feature remains the current way the renamed wallet presents leveraged trading. It does not change how Base itself settles blocks, and it does not give U.S. users a new legal perp venue.

Link to this story

Arc

Research not published

1 story did not pass publication checks. This does not mean nothing happened. Saved notes from 13 Sept, 06:15 UTC.

Elsewhere in crypto

2 developments

Harborne matches Delo's £36 million gift, taking Reform UK crypto-donor haul to £72 million

CoinDesk reported that Tether and Bitfinex investor Christopher Harborne donated £36 million ($48.7 million) to Nigel Farage's Reform UK on Saturday, matching a £36 million gift from BitMEX co-founder Ben Delo. Combined, the two gifts are £72 million, described as jointly the largest individual donations to a U.K. political party. The Guardian's 12 September analysis treated both windfalls as already given. Harborne said he expected no peerage or policy change. The gifts land while the Metropolitan Police investigate Reform donations, Farage faces a parliamentary standards inquiry over an earlier £5 million Harborne gift, and the U.K. government has said it plans to ban political donations made in cryptocurrency. CoinDesk said the Guardian report did not specify whether the latest gifts were paid in crypto.

Why it matters This is crypto wealth entering U.K. party finance at record size, next to a proposed ban on crypto donations and open investigations. It changes how readers should watch U.K. crypto policy and Reform's funding, not a token listing.

Read the context

Reform UK is Nigel Farage's party. Harborne is a Thailand-based crypto investor who is electorally registered in the U.K. Delo co-founded BitMEX, was convicted in the United States over anti-money-laundering controls, and was later pardoned by Donald Trump. Farage has publicly backed a more open U.K. crypto regime, including a bitcoin reserve idea and limits on banks closing crypto customers' accounts. The Guardian noted opponents will argue those pledges could enrich the donors, while Reform says the stance predates the gifts. Earlier Harborne money to Farage personally is under a standards inquiry. The Electoral Commission has previously said parties had not reported donations identified as cryptoassets. The latest pair of £36 million gifts is reported as donations to the party. Whether they were cash or crypto is not established in the articles reviewed.

Link to this story

Senate CLARITY Act cloture vote is scheduled for 15 September, not a final law vote

crypto.news reported that the U.S. Senate is due to hold a 15 September cloture vote on the motion to proceed to the CLARITY Act, the House-passed digital-asset market-structure bill (H.R. 3633). Cloture generally needs 60 votes. Success would only open debate. It would not enact the bill, freeze the text, or send a law to the president. The House passed its version 294-134 in July 2025. The Senate Banking Committee advanced a version 15-9 in May 2026. Crypto firms and banks are still fighting over stablecoin rewards, bank deposits, anti-money-laundering rules, and which agency polices which products. White House adviser Patrick Witt has warned that a failed vote could close the current legislative window. That is a political forecast, not a rule of the Senate.

Why it matters Tuesday's result decides whether Congress starts floor debate on U.S. market-structure rules that would affect exchanges, DeFi, and token classification. A no vote leaves the SEC and CFTC working under existing statutes. Do not read a cloture headline as passage.

Read the context

The CLARITY Act is meant to sort when a crypto asset is treated as a security and when it is a digital commodity, and to split work between the CFTC and the SEC. Senate Majority Leader John Thune filed cloture on the motion to proceed before the August recess. Reporting cited by crypto.news says Democrats have not publicly locked in enough yes votes, banks want limits on stablecoin rewards, and crypto groups want the bill on the floor. If cloture fails, leaders could try again, but floor time before the 2026 midterms is limited. If the Senate later passes an amended bill, the House must still agree to identical text. Agency rulemaking can continue either way, but it cannot rewrite the statute by itself.

Link to this story