Read the latest Pulse

Tokyo edition

News checked through

Published 18 Sept, 23:21 UTC

You are reading a saved edition, not live news. News window: 17 Sept, 23:15 UTC to 18 Sept, 23:15 UTC. Labelled ongoing and upcoming items retain their own dates.

The catch-up

News from the last 24 hours, plus clearly dated ongoing developments and upcoming events.

Sunrise lists PEPE on Solana, with trading in Phantom, Jupiter and Raydium

@sunrise said $PEPE is now listed on @solana via Sunrise and posted PEPEqnuuCDbBC89p1u9vpnP1KQ2oj1xTcQBsjt9X55m as the canonical Solana contract. @solana later called the listing live and said $PEPE is available in apps including @Backpack , @phantom , @JupiterExchange , @Raydium , @solflare and @kamino_swap , with the mint also shown on @Orb_Markets . Sunrise is a Solana listing venue that brings assets onto DEX markets. The posts do not describe redemption, issuer custody, or U.S. eligibility.

Read story

Robinhood

1 development

Robinhood will livestream HOOD Summit on 29-30 September for new active-trader tools

@RobinhoodApp told followers to tune in 29-30 September. Official pages put HOOD Summit '26 in Houston, with Chairman and CEO Vlad Tenev's keynote at 5:30 p.m. Central on 29 September, livestreamed in the Robinhood app, on X, YouTube and robinhood.com/presents. The company says the keynote will show new tools for active traders, and that 30 September main-stage sessions will also stream. No product list, including any Robinhood Chain feature, has been published. The dates are announced, not a guaranteed launch.

Why it matters This is a scheduled product window for Robinhood users and anyone watching Robinhood Chain, not a live button. Treat social rumors as unverified until the livestream names what is shipping, where, and when.

Read the context

Robinhood Chain is Robinhood's permissionless Ethereum Layer 2, built on Arbitrum technology, using ETH for gas and aimed at tokenized stocks and onchain apps. HOOD Summit is the company's annual event. A 10 August newsroom post already set Houston for 29-30 September. The 16 September teaser does not change those dates. In late September, Central Time is daylight time (UTC-5), so 5:30 p.m. CT is 22:30 UTC. Specific chain, wallet or brokerage features remain unnamed until the keynote.

Link to this story

Solana

3 developments

Sunrise lists PEPE on Solana, with trading in Phantom, Jupiter and Raydium

@sunrise said $PEPE is now listed on @solana via Sunrise and posted PEPEqnuuCDbBC89p1u9vpnP1KQ2oj1xTcQBsjt9X55m as the canonical Solana contract. @solana later called the listing live and said $PEPE is available in apps including @Backpack , @phantom , @JupiterExchange , @Raydium , @solflare and @kamino_swap , with the mint also shown on @Orb_Markets . Sunrise is a Solana listing venue that brings assets onto DEX markets. The posts do not describe redemption, issuer custody, or U.S. eligibility.

Why it matters A large memecoin ticker is now a native Solana market that wallets and DEXs can route. Traders should verify that mint before swapping, and should not assume this Solana listing is the Ethereum PEPE contract or that it carries the same legal rights as a tokenized stock.

Read the context

Sunrise lists assets for trading on Solana. Yesterday it listed Rumble's RUM through Backpack Securities. Today's PEPE posts do not repeat that Backpack Securities issuance language, so the legal wrapper, if any, is not stated in the primary posts. @solana described PEPE as one of the largest memecoins, built around the recognizable frog, and told users to verify the address on Orb Markets. The listed apps are routing venues, not proof of deep liquidity or of a canonical bridge from Ethereum. Fake PEPE mints are common on Solana. The evidence is the listing and app-availability notices, not onchain volume, holder counts, or a published prospectus.

Link to this story

Solana activates 250ms slots on mainnet, the last SIMD-0525 step before 200ms

@anza_xyz said 250ms slots are live on Solana mainnet-beta, calling 200ms the last stop. @solana quoted that confirmation. Anza had said the SIMD-0525 feature would apply at the epoch 1037 boundary around 05:01 UTC on 18 September. Solana Compass, citing that post, said epoch 1037 crossed at 05:06 UTC. SIMD-0525 shortens target slot time in stages and cuts per-slot compute and shred limits in proportion, so the network's processing ceiling stays about the same. No mainnet date is set for 200ms.

Why it matters Wallets, oracles and trading apps now get a faster network clock, and an epoch is expected to last about 30 hours instead of 36. This is not a 17% throughput increase. Apps that hard-code slot duration or depend on leader-window length should recheck their assumptions.

Read the context

A Solana slot is the short window in which a designated validator can produce a block. SIMD-0525, authored by Brennan Watt at Anza, reduces target slot time from 400ms toward 200ms while keeping 64 ticks per slot, four-slot leader windows, and 432,000-slot epochs. At 250ms the spec targets four slots per second, a 1.0-second leader window, about 30 hours per epoch, and 37.5 million maximum block compute units, down from 60 million at the 400ms baseline. Feature gates take effect one epoch after they activate so shred limits can change cleanly. The 200ms stage would target five slots per second and about 24-hour epochs. Anza said that step is next and did not publish an activation date. The GitHub SIMD is still marked Draft; the live evidence is Anza's mainnet confirmation, which Solana amplified.

Link to this story

Supercoin and Solana present ZARsc, a licensed Rand stablecoin, as live on Solana

@solana quoted @supercoinxyz saying ZARsc is live on Solana. Supercoin's 18 September post says Super Money South Africa, an FSCA-licensed Crypto Asset Service Provider (FSP 53458), issued the Rand-pegged token onto Solana, with onshore Absa reserves, monthly Moore South Africa checks, Fireblocks custody, and Chainalysis screening. Supercoin lists mint 5ekaHEqpRUXH4RoZVRMErdJE74bibWAzihMtPcjKyceQ. An earlier Supercoin note already called ZARsc available on Orca on 2 September, so today's posts are a public issuance write-up, not proof of a first onchain mint in this window.

Why it matters Readers following Solana payments can inspect a non-USD stablecoin with a named South African licence, bank reserve, and mint. The evidence supports a public Supercoin and Solana presentation, not a claim that ZARsc first appeared onchain today or that U.S. users can buy it.

Read the context

Supercoin is a South African issuer backed by NYSE-listed Super Group (SGHC). It describes ZARsc as a Rand-pegged SPL token meant for moving Rand value on Solana rather than as a speculative asset. The 18 September Supercoin article includes a Solana Foundation payments quote from Maya Caddle and says reserves stay onshore at Absa, with monthly assurance reports published on Supercoin's site. Supercoin also names Luno, VALR, and OVEX as venues. A 2 September Supercoin article already said ZARsc was available on Orca, Solana's DEX, so onchain access predated this window. Footer text on some Supercoin pages still gives conflicting consumer-wallet dates; those dates are not used here. Supercoin does not, in the posts reviewed, publish circulating supply, U.S. eligibility, or a new DEX listing unique to 18 September.

Link to this story

Base

1 development

Base and Ethereum still split on wallet standards, and Cobalt's published list omits EIP-8130

Ethlabs’ @decentrek said talks to merge Base-led EIP-8130 with Ethereum’s EIP-8141 broke down last week. Both drafts aim to make wallets easier with passkeys, apps paying fees and bundled actions. CoinDesk reports wallets that span both networks may have to support two transaction formats. Neither design is live on mainnet. Base's official Cobalt page now dates Sepolia to 23 September 2026 and mainnet to 30 September 2026, listing B20 changes, validity transactions, dynamic upgrades and a TEE migration, not EIP-8130.

Why it matters Wallet and app teams that assumed a shared September ship for Base native accounts should re-read Cobalt's feature list. Ethereum's Hegotá track and Base's test work can still move, but they are no longer one standard.

Read the context

Account abstraction is the effort to make crypto wallets feel closer to normal apps: sign in with a passkey, let an app pay the fee, and batch several steps into one confirmation. Base pushed EIP-8130 for scale, customization and compliance. Ethereum's EIP-8141, also called Frame Transactions, is aimed at censorship resistance, privacy and post-quantum readiness. After months of talks, that merge attempt failed. CoinDesk's 16 September write-up is why the split is still the live watch item: multi-chain wallets may need two transaction formats. EIP-8141 remains a must-ship candidate for Ethereum’s Hegotá upgrade. EIP-8130 has been exercised on Base’s Vibenet test network. An earlier assumption that EIP-8130 would ride Base's September Cobalt upgrade does not match Base's current Cobalt documentation, which instead lists B20 token-standard improvements, validity transactions that execute only when onchain conditions match, dynamic node upgrades in metrics-only mode on mainnet, and a move of Base infrastructure into a Trusted Execution Environment. Those Cobalt dates are published targets, not a guarantee, and the official page does not give a clock time. B20 itself has been live on Base mainnet since the June Beryl upgrade. It is a native, ERC-20 compatible token type with issuer controls. That is separate from the wallet-standard fight.

Link to this story

Arc

3 developments

Circle says its x402 Facilitator is live for USDC payments on Arc, Base and Polygon

@circle said agentic payments are live on Arc. Its Facilitator Service gives x402 builders a hosted way to accept Circle-issued USDC on Arc, Base, and Polygon without running a relayer or funding separate gas wallets. Circle developer docs say the service verifies buyer-signed EIP-3009 authorizations and submits the USDC transfer onchain. Settlements on Arc are described as final; Base and Polygon settlements carry reorg risk. Circle says it does not hold, control, or transmit user funds, and that the product is software from Circle Technology Services, LLC, not a reviewed payment institution.

Why it matters Builders who want agents or APIs to charge per request in USDC can use a hosted path instead of operating settlement infrastructure. The same integration covers Arc plus Base and Polygon. It is not a consumer wallet feature and does not mean Circle will sign or fund a user's transactions.

Read the context

Arc is Circle's USDC-gas layer 1, which opened public mainnet on 16 September. x402 is a pay-per-request protocol that uses HTTP 402-style payment challenges so a buyer, including software, can pay a seller in stablecoins. Facilitator Service is Circle's hosted seller-side component: the seller points an HTTP API at Circle, Circle screens both parties, pays settlement gas, and broadcasts the transfer. Docs say a Circle API key is required to settle, with a keyless trial available without a Circle account. Earlier reports quoted Circle CEO Jeremy Allaire saying the facilitator was live around mainnet. Today's @circle post is the company's public product notice in this window. Features may change, and Circle says the service is not approved by a regulator.

Link to this story

Arc Portal launches as a single entry point for wallets, swaps, earn and cirBTC

@arc said Arc Portal is live. It listed wallet create-and-fund, earn with @Morpho , swaps including USDC for cirBTC, agent-wallet management, app discovery, and balances. The live site at portal.arc.io also advertises Circle Guarded vault deposits, a USD to USDC onramp, cross-network swaps, sends, and cirBTC described as 1:1 backed by bitcoin. A later Arc post said users can get cirBTC by swapping on Arc or bridging it from Ethereum through Portal. Circle says it does not hold private keys, and that third-party apps in Portal are not guaranteed.

Why it matters After Arc's public mainnet, this is the consumer front door for funding, swapping and putting USDC or cirBTC to work without hopping across separate onramps and apps. Eligibility, yields and listed apps can vary, and generated or bridged balances are still onchain risk.

Read the context

Arc is Circle's layer 1 for dollar settlement and agent payments. Public mainnet opened on 16 September, and launch materials already named Portal among day-one tools. The 18 September post is the dedicated user-facing go-live, with Portal presenting itself as one place from first visit to first action. cirBTC is Circle's bitcoin product: Arc told holders of supported wrapped bitcoin on Ethereum to swap into cirBTC there, then bridge to Arc. Portal's earn module names Circle Guarded vaults on the website and Morpho on the Arc post, so users should read the specific vault they deposit into. Disclosures on the site say products have not been reviewed by NYDFS or another regulator, availability varies by jurisdiction, and transactions can be irreversible.

Link to this story

Arc offers 20 microgrants of $500 USDC for live mainnet mini apps

@arc said it will award 20 microgrants of $500 USDC to eligible early builders shipping working mini apps on Arc mainnet. The Arc House page puts the pool at 10,000 USDC and says submissions need a live mainnet link and a public repo. Submissions close 14 October 2026 at 23:59 ET, with all decisions by 21 October. Testnet-only work, mockups, and projects already funded by a Circle or Arc program are ineligible. Payout is in USDC on Arc after verification. Awards are not guaranteed, and program counts can change.

Why it matters The window is still open for anyone who can ship a working Arc mainnet mini app with a public repo. It is a small, dated builder path, not the separate discretionary capital figure discussed around the drone show.

Read the context

Arc opened public mainnet on 16 September as Circle's USDC-gas chain. Microgrants sit beside Arc Studio and Portal as a way for early apps to get a $500 USDC payout after verification, rather than a priced token sale or a guaranteed venture round. The program still requires a live mainnet link. Circle and Arc already-funded work is excluded. The close time is announced, not a promise that 20 awards will be paid.

Link to this story

Elsewhere in crypto

3 developments

Coinbase files to list U.S. single-stock perpetual futures, subject to approval

@coinbase said it has filed to list the first set of single-stock perpetual futures in the United States, aiming for 24/5 exposure to individual stocks on top of its live U.S. perps market. A follow-up post said Coinbase Derivatives, LLC is a CFTC-registered designated contract market and that futures trading can involve substantial risk. Decrypt, citing the CFTC listing and the Wall Street Journal, reported the contracts remain approval-pending and that the first set could cover about 50 to 60 names, including Apple, Microsoft, Tesla and Nvidia. Coinbase's own posts do not name those tickers. The products are not live.

Why it matters This is a derivatives path to U.S. stock prices, not tokenized share ownership under the SEC Innovation Exemption, and not a Base or Solana listing. It is a filing. Launch timing, the stock list and whether U.S. retail can use the contracts are still subject to regulators.

Read the context

Perpetual futures have no expiry and usually use funding payments to track an index. They do not confer voting rights or dividends. Coinbase already offers some U.S. perpetual futures on crypto and indexes, and it has offered stock perps to eligible non-U.S. users. Crypto.com and Kalshi have also pursued stock-linked derivatives through different structures. The 17 September SEC Innovation Exemption covers permissioned trading of tokenized NMS stock that keeps the same rights as the listed share. These proposed perps are a separate CFTC product. Press reports say launch could come later this year if approved. That is not a dated guarantee.

Link to this story

CFTC crypto-market prerule reaches White House review after the CLARITY stall

A Reginfo.gov entry shows OIRA received CFTC RIN 3038-AF80, titled Regulation Crypto Asset Transactions and Regulation Crypto Asset Markets, on 17 September 2026. The action is at prerule stage, has no legal deadline, and is not listed as economically significant. The Block and CoinDesk reported the filing on 18 September, after the Senate failed to advance the CLARITY Act. The public entry does not disclose which assets, venues or intermediaries would be covered. It creates no new compliance duty by itself.

Why it matters U.S. crypto market structure is moving through agency processes rather than the stalled bill. Exchanges, wallet software and listed products should watch for an actual proposal, not treat this docket line as a new rule.

Read the context

OIRA reviews significant agency actions under Executive Order 12866 before they move further. Prerule means the CFTC is still deciding whether or how to begin rulemaking, which can include an advance notice, and has not issued a notice of proposed rulemaking for comment. Chair Michael Selig had said the agency would use existing authority if CLARITY stalled. The 17 September staff no-action letter for passive trading software is a separate completed staff position. This RIN is the first visible White House-review step for a broader crypto-market action. The next useful document is whatever the CFTC publishes after review, if it publishes one.

Link to this story

Haruko says a targeted attack hit 15 clients and exposed exchange API data

CoinDesk reported that London crypto infrastructure provider Haruko was hit in a targeted cyberattack that affected 15 institutional clients. Co-founder and CTO Adam Carlile told customers attackers exploited a process vulnerability, extracted an access token, and reached data in memory, including read-only exchange API details and trading data. People familiar with the matter told CoinDesk some smaller hedge-fund clients may have lost a small amount of funds. No figure or named victim list has been published. Haruko said it patched the hole, rotated server-side secrets, and plans a technical post-mortem.

Why it matters A vendor that connects funds and desks to many exchanges can expose client trading data even when keys are read-only. Funds using third-party execution or portfolio tools should rotate credentials, tighten IP allowlists, and wait for the post-mortem before assuming the loss path is understood.

Read the context

Haruko provides institutional crypto technology and, according to secondary reports, connects clients to large numbers of exchanges and chains. Read-only API keys usually cannot withdraw, so the reported fund loss, if confirmed, likely involved a different permission, a downstream control failure, or an undisclosed path. CoinDesk said the intrusion was earlier this week; the public client-impact account landed on 18 September. Named logos on Haruko's site are not a list of the 15 affected clients. Final loss, attacker identity and whether trading data was used remain unconfirmed pending Haruko's report.

Link to this story